QR Codes – More testing

My husband picked up this QR Code at a Rotary meeting:

FRONT

Diamond Backs Postcard - Front

Diamondbacks Postcard - Front

BACK

Diamondbacks Postcard - Back

Diamondbacks Postcard - Back

I thought the marketing was clever… “Scan this diamond and get great seats for this one!” And, I thought the graphic designer did a fairly nice job incorporating a pictograph that explains what to do with the QR Code.

So I scanned the code, and was directed to this site:

Diamondbacks Ticket Site

After scanning the QR Code, I was directed to this site.

Cool! I then clicked on the green “Buy Tickets” button. And I got this:

Too many redirects

Too many redirects???

Too many redirects?? So I searched around on the web. Initially, I thought the problem was the QR Code itself. But after testing the URL on my computer (where it worked fine) I realized the problem might lie elsewhere. Additional research on the internet suggested the problem might be with my (gulp!) quietly brilliant HTC Droid Incredible. The suggested solution was to power down the phone completely and then try again. So I did…and it worked!

Diamondbacks half-price ticket page

Diamondbacks half-price ticket page

I was able to go to the Diamondbacks half-price ticket page where I could purchase tickets if I so desired.

Attempts to find reliable documentation about the HTC Incredible redirect issue proved fruitless. I will continue to research that problem and will report my findings in a future blog.

In the meantime, the testing provided some additional insights into QR Codes.

Clever graphics are an important component of effective marketing with a QR Code. Getting the consumer interested enough to scan the code is critical. But clever graphics are not enough – the consumer must be directed to a value-add site. In the case of this Diamondbacks QR Code, directing the consumer to a site where half-price tickets can be purchased was an excellent use of a QR Code.

Secondly, marketers need to be aware that QR Code technology has the potential to frustrate the end user when it doesn’t work properly. Potential breakdown areas include the software that generates the QR Code, the software that reads the QR Code, and the user’s phone.

This entry was posted in QR Codes, QR Codes - Best Practices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to QR Codes – More testing

  1. Goochimus Maximus says:

    I noticed a QR code in Chris’ alumni magazine. But the design of the ad must not have been so good because I don’t remember where I was going to go if I scanned the code. But I don’t even have a smahtphone, so this is all rather academic.

  2. Doug says:

    Actually, I picked it up at a Chamber of Commerce event. As every good Rotarian knows, doing business at Rotary meetings is a fine-able offense.

Leave a Reply

